Development – LITA / Christian (Chris) Larew Memorial Scholarship in Library and Information Technology

The LITA / Christian (Chris) Larew Memorial Scholarship, begun in 1999, is awarded jointly on an annual basis currently in the amount of $3,000, by the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA), a division of the American Library Association, and Baker & Taylor. The scholarship is designed to encourage the entry of qualified persons into the library and information technology field, who plan to follow a career in that field, and who demonstrate academic excellence, leadership, and a vision in pursuit of library and information technology. This scholarship is for study in an ALA Accredited Master of Library Science (MLS) program.

Candidates should illustrate their qualifications for this scholarship with a statement indicating the nature of their library experience, letters of reference, and a personal statement of the applicant’s view of what he or she can bring to the profession, emphasizing experiences that indicate a potential for leadership and commitment to library technology. Candidates must not have earned more than 12 credit hours towards a Master of Library Science degree from an ALA Accredited MLS program.

The winner is announced and introduced, if present, at the LITA President’s Program during the Annual Conference of the American Library Association.

The Christian Larew Scholarship Committee reviews the applications and selects the scholarship winner.

Application forms and instructions are available at ALA/Divisions Scholarship Program. All applications, references, and transcripts and other documents must be received no later than March 1st, for that year’s scholarship.

The following have received the LITA/Christian Larew Scholarship to date:

  • Avi Janssen, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, IL, 1999
  • Cynthia Mader, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, IL, 2000
  • Ohla Olekandrivna Buchel, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, IL, 2001
  • Josue Hurtado, University of Michigan, MI, 2002
  • William Lund, Drexel University, Philadelphia, PA, 2003
  • Rachel Howard, University of Washington, Seattle, WA, 2004
  • Margaret Lawrence, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 2005
  • Eric Whitfield, Dominican University, River Forest, IL, 2006
  • Karin Michelle Dalziel, University of Missouri-Columbia, 2007
  • Joanna DiPasquale, Rutgers University, 2008
  • Nicholas Taylor, University of Maryland, 2009
  • Katy Rebecca Mahraj, University of Michigan, 2010
  • Fredrica Lush, University of Pittsburgh, 2011
  • William Edward Jones, University at Buffalo, 2012
  • Daniel Verbit, University of Alabama,  2013
  • Adriana Rissetto Puckett, Florida State University, 2014
  • Andrew Meyer, University of Illinois at Urbana- Champaign, 2015
  • Richard Johnson, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 2016
  • Lucy Flamm, University of Texas at Austin, 2017
  • Simone Wagner, Simmons School of Library and Information Science, 2018

Visit the LITA Awards & Scholarships page for information on additional LITA scholarships.